This Short Recap Of The Entire ‘Game Of Thrones’ Series Is Essential Viewing Before Season 8

Joshua RogersJoshua Rogers in Entertainment, TV
Published 05.04.19
Stay in the loop. We've got you covered
We'll soon be launching our easy-to-digest daily roundup of everything you need to know.
Your email address will be shared with The Hook and subject to its privacy policy.

I have a number of friends who haven’t seen a single second of Game of Thrones and I love nothing more than reminding them what a terrible decision that was.

Of course they’re completely oblivious as to what they’re missing out on, but I just wish they could see the light one day and finally make the plunge.

Time’s pretty much run out now, though, and if by this point you haven’t watched it I doubt you ever will. Part of the joy and excitement from watching a series like this comes from the all the office talk, fan theories and memes flying about, and that’s never going to be there years down the line.

But just as I was beginning to give up on the idea of persuading them, this next video appeared – a complete Game Of Thrones recap in just 12 measly minutes.

The good people over at ScreenCrush have delivered everything we could ever need, summarising seven seasons worth of GoT content in one easily digestible clip.

The video is jam-packed with spoilers (obviously).

Check it out:

You forget how epic it is. Now I remember why I’m so excited for season 8.

HBO have been steadily releasing a series of tantalising trailers of late, including one called ‘Together’ – which sees Daenerys Targaryen arrive at Winterfell, dragons and all, and another called ‘Survival’ – which shows us a brief glimpse of Arya reuniting with Jon in Winterfell’s snow-covered woods.

However, it was ‘Aftermath’ that really had us reeling.


The trailer has a distinctly icy feel to it – perhaps foreshadowing the Night King’s triumph in the battle of Winterfell – with a number of items from specific characters littered around, including Jaime Lannister’s fake hand, Tyrion’s pin and a dragonglass arrow.

We also see Jon Snow’s sword in the castle gate and a shadowy figure. Don’t tell me it ends like this.

If you are insisting on cramming in every previous episode before season 8 lands, though, I implore you to think again.

That’s because Thrones writer and co-executive producer, Bryan Cogman, has revealed the 21 episodes you need to see before heading into season 8.

Here they are:

WINTER IS COMING & THE KINGSROAD (Season 1, Episodes 1 & 2)

BAELOR (Season 1, Episode 9)

FIRE AND BLOOD (Season 1, Episode 10)

WHAT IS DEAD MAY NEVER DIE (Season 2, Episode 3)

THE OLD GODS AND THE NEW (Season 2, Episode 6)

BLACKWATER (Season 2, Episode 9)

WALK OF PUNISHMENT (Season 3, Episode 3)

AND NOW HIS WATCH IS ENDED (Season 3, Episode 4)

KISSED BY FIRE (Season 3, Episode 5)

THE RAINS OF CASTAMERE (Season 3, Episode 9)

THE LAWS OF GODS AND MEN (Season 4, Episode 6)

THE MOUNTAIN AND THE VIPER (Season 4, Episode 8)

THE CHILDREN (Season 4, Episode 10)

HARDHOME (Season 5, Episode 8)

THE DOOR (Season 6, Episode 5)

BATTLE OF THE BASTARDS (Season 6, Episode 9)

THE WINDS OF WINTER (Season 6, Episode 10)

THE QUEEN’S JUSTICE (Season 7, Episode 3)

THE SPOILS OF WAR (Season 7, Episode 4)

THE DRAGON AND THE WOLF (Season 7, Episode 7)

I was going to start on a few of them but after this neat little video I think I’m perfectly up to speed.

Thanks ScreenCrush!

Images via HBO/YouTube

Related Posts