Tom Hanks Receives Lifetime Achievement Award At The Golden Globes

Joseph FurnessJoseph Furness in Entertainment, Film
Published 06.01.20

Tom Hanks just received The Lifetime Achievement Award at The Golden Globes 2020.

Award season is officially upon us.

Cementing his place in film history as a Hollywood icon, Tom Hanks received The Cecil B DeMille Lifetime Achievement Award last night at The Golden Globes 2020. The veteran actor – known for his roles as legendary characters such as Woody the Cowboy, Walt Disney and Forrest Gump – has appeared in over 80 movies and still isn’t finished (he’s already confirmed to star in three films this year).

Judging by the reception in the room, Hanks’ fellow actors and actresses believe that the 63-year-old actor is a worthy winner of the award.


Before presenting the award to the actor, American-South African actress Charlize Theron said: “The most undeniable thing that can be said about Tom Hanks is both deceptively simple and yet overwhelmingly true. He just makes the world a better place”.

Hank struggled through his acceptance speech as he became overwhelmed with emotions: emotions he hilariously blamed on his common cold. However, the sentences he did manage to string together were inspiringly humble and profound.

“A man is blessed with a family sitting down in front like that. You’re a dope if you don’t steal from everybody you have ever worked with. I have stolen from the likes of people that only need one name; like Meryl; like Denzel; like Antonio; like Meg; like Julia; like Sally Field, even though that’s two names, it’s still one.”


Hanks’ speech instantly stole the show as he spoke little about having ‘innate abilities’, and instead gave thanks to other amazing talents in the industry of whom he regularly surrounds himself with.

Who else has won The Cecil B DeMille Lifetime Achievement Award?

Tom Hanks is the 68th winner of the award that has been handed out every year since Cecil B DeMille was the first to accept the award back in 1952. Previous winners include Alfred Hitchcock, Jack Nicholson, Elizabeth Taylor and, quite amusingly, Walt Disney – a legend that Hanks has portrayed in the not so distant past.


Here are the most recent winners of the Golden Globes Cecil B DeMille Lifetime Achievement Award:

2010 – Martin Scorsese

2011 – Robert De Niro

2012 – Morgan Freeman

2013 – Jodie Foster

2014 – Woody Allen


2015 – George Clooney

2016 – Denzel Washington

2017 – Meryl Streep

2018 – Oprah Winfrey

2019 – Jeff Bridges


On a final note: If there’s one thing we can all take from Hank’s winning of the award, it’s to reach for the sky. 

Good work cowboy.